First Aid: first to work

3 Oct

I was a clumsy kid. My parents despaired as cherryade went scooting up newly painted walls; as by trying to help out I ended up breaking the lawn mower; how I came back from every holiday with scars as souvenirs.

Last night it dawned on me that some clumsy people should never live alone.

Just before dinner, I reached into a drawer of bits and bobs. One of the bobs was an attachment for the food processor. With blades. It sliced into my finger.

I wouldn’t make a good nurse. Imagine clumsy ‘ole me trying to bandage someone, or stick needles into an arm: it would cause more harm than good.

Blood started dripping all over the other bits and bobs; then onto the floor, my jeans and the food I had.

I tried to look at the cut. I knew nothing about what I should do, so I ran it under some water and watched the sink turn red. Then I wrapped the biggest plaster I could find around it, taped it up some more when the blood started to show and ate my dinner with one hand. I ignored the throbbing.

Why was I content to do nothing much about it?

I’m not good with blood and bodies cut open. I can’t sit through an episode of ER or Casualty simply because there are too many bones sticking at the wrong angles and insides of people on display.

I also knew I was coming to work today.

The British Safety Council has a team of trained first aiders in its offices. They have been trained by the Red Cross and they do their refresher course every three years to keep up-to-date.

Cleaning and healing

Paris, one of our first aiders, unwrapped the terrible sticky tape I had put round my finger, soaked with blood.

 “Did you clean it?” she asked. I replied I hadn’t.

“Why not?” I told her that I had known I was coming to work today and we have first aiders who would deal with it.

She smiled. She cleaned it properly and covered it to stop the blood while still allowing air to get to it to heal.

It’s made me think. Let’s keep in mind my injury was not work related.

But I did come to work to get it sorted. This firstly made me aware of the basic skills I obviously lack. It also got me thinking about the reality of the work that our gap year students do in far-flung corners of the globe regarding basic health and safety; teaching children to keep themselves safe and healthy so that clumsy hiccups like mine do not reach dangerous levels.

I also thought about the role and responsibility of employers. Legally, employers must have first aid provision and equipment and facilities for their employees should they be injured or are taken ill at work under the Health and Safety (First-Aid) Regulations 1981. Depending on the workplace, this can be simply having a first aid box available, or, as we do, having trained first aiders to deal with. Points to consider include the hazards, the number of employers and visitors, the working arrangements and the accidents and ill-health record.

It doesn’t account for clumsy people like me.

But that’s OK. I was glad that I could come into work today and have that trained attention.

There are many moments in our working lives where things happen ‘at the office’ and all we can do is think about being at home.

Yesterday, I was at home thinking about being at work. It was a change which has meant my wound will heal nicely.

And my bits and bobs drawer has been reorganised to a safer standard.

Are you a trained first aider? Have you had a first aid experience at work? Do you think all workplaces should have trained employees in first aid? Let us know your thoughts and comments.

Leave a Reply

