Love the job you do

8 Feb

My boyfriend recently became a first aider at his work, following a three-day first aid course with the British Red Cross.

His interest in wanting to become a first aider stemmed from an accident he suffered while running for the bus on his way to work last year. He cut his knee quite badly but didn’t have the necessary equipment to tend to it there and then.

When he eventually hobbled into work, blood pouring from his knee, the female receptionist, who was a first aider, squealed at the sight. Not wanting to take his trousers off in front of her, it became apparent there wasn’t a qualified male first aider in the office to tend to his wound and he ended up doing it himself.

What shocked me most about his story was that there were qualified first aiders who were scared to deal with injuries because they didn’t like the sight of blood. Surely this has to be a prerequisite to becoming a first aider?

I use this example to make the point that no matter what job you do, you should enjoy it and want to do the very best you can at it. I’ve always loved writing and, although my work is unlikely to save a life, I get immense satisfaction from finishing an article I’ve put my heart and soul into.

My motto in life has always been to love the job you do. You spend half your life working so why dread getting up every day to do a job you hate?   

I’ve revelled in the enthusiasm my boyfriend has shown since gaining his qualification. Granted, it was only last week, but it’s refreshing to see someone so passionate about wanting to help others.

Watching Dancing on Ice, I nod resolutely when someone falls over on the ice and he says: “If only I had been there, I could have given them first aid.” I’m sure the novelty will wear off, but it’s nice to know I’m in the safe hands of someone who would want to, and is able to save my life.

Leave a Reply

